Early Childhood – Grade 6 Certification

From ABCs to fractions, the EC-6 certification prepares you to teach at the elementary school level. With an Early Childhood – Grade 6 certification, you’ll be set to teach kindergarten through elementary school, and in some cases middle school that include 6th Grade.

Kindergarten and elementary school teachers typically instruct students in several subjects throughout the day. While students are away from the classroom, teachers plan lessons, grade assignments, or meet with other teachers and staff.

In some schools, teachers may work on subject specialization teams in which they teach one or two specific subjects, typically either English and social studies or math and science. And there are some teachers who specialize in subjects such as art, music or physical education.

Texas public school teachers typically need a bachelor’s degree from a university accredited by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, an Early Childhood – Grade 6 certification and the completion of an Educator Preparation Program.

Median Annual Salary

Jobs in Texas


Job Growth in U.S.

Back to top